Event News

Aquaculture Awards shortlist revealed

Friday, April 17, 2020

The Aquaculture Awards 2020 announced its shortlist of entries. These awards highlight the range of talent and cutting-edge advances in technology involved in the global aquaculture sector. A wide range of companies, research organizations and individuals from around the world have made the shortlist:

Finfish farmer of the year – sponsored by Gael Force

  • Lovemore Ndovie, Kayalami Aquaculture
  • Funke Olatunde – PhD student and fish farmer, Nigeria
  • Ross Fennel – site assistant with the Scottish Salmon Company, Gigha, Scotland
  • Noelia Rodriguez – hatchery manager for Scottish Sea Farms, Barcaldine, Scotland

Shellfish farmer of the year – sponsored by M&S Select Farms

  • Gordon Turnbull – owner and operator of Isle of Mull Oysters, Scotland
  • George Holmyard – manager of Offshore Shellfish, Devon, England
  • Koo Eng Wah – Sepang Today Aquaculture Centre, Malaysia

Outstanding contribution to the industry – sponsored by Marine Scotland

  • Amy Novogratz – co-founder and head of Aqua-Spark, Netherlands
  • Alan Henshaw – manager of Calverton Fish Farm, England
  • Alastair Barge – owner/operator of Otter Ferry Seafish, Scotland
  • Djames Lim – CEO of the Lim Shrimp Group, Indonesia

Environmental impact – sponsored by Cargill

  • Inovafeed – insect protein producer, France
  • Fjord Maritime – generators for feed barges, Norway
  • Nofir – recycling, Norway
  • EWOS/Cargill Aqua Nutrition – developing compostable feed bags, Scotland

Aquaculture supplier of the year – sponsored by Stingray

  • Benchmark Genetics/StofnFiskur
  • Ace Aquatec
  • NAFC Marine Centre UHI
  • Gael Force Group

Community initiative

  • Loch Duart – Salmon Pool community funding
  • Mowi Scotland – Salmon Wagon
  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Outer Hebrides Local Energy Hub (OHLEH), Lewis

Economic sustainability – sponsored by BioMar

  • Aquaseed Fishtecknik – fish smokers, Nigeria
  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Apprentice to Expert training scheme, Scotland
  • Scottish Sea Farms – Eday Employee Housing, Scotland
  • The Scottish Salmon Company – Outer Hebrides Local Energy Hub (OHLEH), Lewis, Scotland

Animal welfare – sponsored by MSD Animal Health

  • John Avizienius and Malcolm Johnstone – RSPCA Assured
  • FAI Farms – Tilapia Wellbeing Project
  • Benchmark Genetics – SalmoBreed Salten
  • Ace Aquatec and Scottish Sea Farms – novel slaughtering systems

Innovation – sponsored by the Scottish Aquaculture Innovation Centre

  • Scottish Shellfish Marketing Group – novel packaging
  • Vita Aqua Feeds (World Feeds Ltd) – cleaner fish feed blocks
  • EWOS/Cargill Aqua Nutrition/Gaia BioMaterials Ltd – compostable feed bags
  • Ace Aquatec & Scottish Sea Farms – novel slaughtering systems

Rising star – sponsored by AILG Skills Group

  • Funke Olatunde – Imoran Farms, Nigeria
  • Rosie Dreghorn – Cargill/EWOS, Scotland
  • Zoe Fletcher – AquaBio Tech Group, Malta
  • Ivana Russon – BioMar, Scotland

Unsung hero

  • Professor Chalres Ngugi – Kenya
  • Dr Martin Jaffa – Callander McDowell, UK
  • Nigel Woodhouse – Hawkshead Trout, UK
  • Nick Bradbury – BioMar, UK

Collaboration – sponsored by the University of Stirling’s Institute of Aquaculture

  • The Global Salmon Initiative (GSI)
  • Mowi Scotland – River Lochy salmon enhancement project
  • Davidsons Animal Feeds / The James Hutton Institute – seaweed in livestock feeds
  • Benchmark Genetics / Nofima – development of whitespot-resistant shrimp

Winners will be announced at a special awards dinner taking place on September 16 during the Aquaculture UK exhibition in Aviemore, UK.


Follow Us

We are social. Connect with us on:

Sign Up For Our Publications

Select a newsletter/magazine and submit your e-mail to subscribe.

Aquafeed Newsletter
Aquafeed Magazine
HATCHERY Feed & Management Publications