GERMANY - International Algae Congress in Hamburg seeks award nominees

Special contributions and people who have excelled in their work with algae are sought for up to three awards that will be made this year at the ALGAE Congress, December 3 and 4, 2013

October 30, 2013

The latest research results will be exchanged, innovative technologies will be presented and practical applications will be discussed when international micro-algae experts meeti in Hamburg on the occasion of the ALGAE Congress, December 3 and 4, 2013. Following the pattern set at IAC11 (International Algae Congress 2011), a selected Commission of Experts will once again identify the recipient of a Senior Award which aims to honor and show appreciation for an individual for outstanding contributions to the development of algae culture. Special contributions and people who have excelled in their work with algae are sought for up to three awards that will be made this year. 

Alongside expertise and performance, the focus will be on helpfulness and cooperativeness in dealings with colleagues and team work.


Senior Award (lifetime achievement): The award winner has co-shaped and decidedly influenced the development of the micro-algae sector through his or her work. The winner will be characterized by expertise, competence and teamwork and can come from the fields of business, research and academia or practical work.

Innovation Award (innovativeness): The award winner will have developed a special technological innovation or process, or placed such an innovation or process on the market, which makes a major contribution to advancing or improving the production of micro-algae.

Junior Research Award (research): The award winner will have conducted a scientific project with particular motivation and expertise and produced an outcome that is conducive to the micro-algae sector. The candidate must be under the age of 35.

The Award Committee is made up of internationally active experts who are familiar with business, science and research and practical applications in the algae sector. The members are:

-  Dr. Amha Belay, sr. Vice President & Chief Technology Officer at Earthrise Nutritionals, USA

-  Prof. Michael Borowitzka, Murdoch University - School of Biological Sciences and Biotechnology, Australia

-  Prof. Lee Kuan Yin, National University of Singapore, Singapore

-  Dr. Bernard Van Lengerich, Chief Science Officer & Vice President, General Mills Inc., USA

-  Prof. Dr. Vince Ördög, University of West Hungary – Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, Hungary

Please submit your nominees to Christie de Vrij by October 31, 2013. (Download the form for nominations from the link below).

The conferment of the Award will be widely reported by the international press in the run up to the event. After the presentation, portraits of the award-winners will be featured internationally within the context of the event. The awards do not carry a cash prize, but instead act via communication in international networks in the sector.


Latest Magazine

Job board